Honours and Premier Awards


The IFLA Governing Board bestows Honours and Awards to recognise individuals contributing to IFLA and the international library and information services sector. IFLA offers the following awards:

The Honorary Fellow and IFLA Medal are peer nominated.

The IFLA Scroll of Appreciation is awarded each year by the IFLA Governing Board to the IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) National Committee for that year.

The IFLA Scroll of Appreciation may also be peer nominated for recipients other than the WLIC National Committee.


Nominees for peer-nominated awards should not be advised that they are being nominated for an award.

All authorised representatives of Members and Personal Affiliates are eligible to make nominations.

Nominations must be received by the date specified in a Call for Nominations. Late submissions shall not be considered.

Nominations must include evidence in support of the specified criteria.

The Executive Committee of the Governing Board shall consider all nominations in committee and in confidence. The Executive Committee may decide whether voting on an award is by show of hands or secret ballot.

The Executive Committee shall base its decisions only on the evidence submitted with the nominations and any further evidence sought from the nominees or referees.

If a member of the Executive Committee is nominated for a peer-nominated honour or award, then that nomination should be considered by the Executive Committee without their knowledge.

If a member of the Executive Committee has nominated or acted as referee for a nominee then that member shall declare a conflict of interest to the Executive Committee. The Committee shall decide whether that member shall absent themselves from discussion and voting.

Details of successful nominations only shall be published. The Executive Committee and the Secretary General shall not enter into correspondence on individual nominations.

Wherever possible honours and awards shall be announced and conferred at the annual WLIC.

New Honours or Awards

The IFLA Governing Board may consider establishing new Honours or Awards to be conferred by IFLA, or jointly by IFLA.

In establishing the need, scope and criteria for a new Honour or Award the Governing Board will take into consideration:

  • IFLA's values;
  • the existing Honours and Awards structure;
  • the perpetuity of the proposed honour or award;
  • the benefits of the honour or award to IFLA and international librarianship, and including for joint honours or awards the benefits of such a partnership for IFLA;
  • the benefits of the honour or award to recipients.

Proposals for new honours or awards must be submitted to the Secretary General for referral to the Governing Board.

Endorsed by IFLA Governing Board, April 2009
Revised by IFLA Governing Board, December 2010

See also: Guidelines for Proposing or Sponsoring IFLA Professional Awards

Awards, Nominations

Última actualización: 4 Febrero 2019