Five innovative libraries nominated for the Public Library of the Year award 2021

The Public Library of the Year award is presented every year to the world’s best public library – a newly built public library that combines functional architecture with creative IT solutions and includes digital development with local culture. Systematic is the main sponsor of the award, which comes with 5,000 US dollars, corresponding to more than 4,200 Euros.

An international jury of IFLA members chooses the nominated libraries. 

This year, the five finalists come from very different parts of the world:

  • Marrickville Library, Australia
  • Deichman Bjørvika - Oslo Public Library, Norway
  • Het Predikheren, Belgium
  • Ningbo New Library, China
  • Forum Groningen, Holland

The nominated libraries are distinguished by sustainable recycling of materials, natural daylight incorporated into the buildings, and many unique, architectural details.


It is a fantastic, strong field of exciting libraries from all over the world. It has been a pleasure for the entire jury to see the development taking place in the library sector in recent years - especially how innovative, technological solutions and sustainability are clear factors in construction processes across the globe.

Jakob Lærkes

Director of the Gladsaxe Libraries in Denmark and Chairman of the jury

The winner will be announced during IFLA's annual congress, held online this year from 17. - 19. August and the award is presented by IFLA’s president Christine Mackenzie.

Oodi Library in Helsinki

Past Public Libraries of the Year:

2019: Oodi, Helsinki Central Library, Finland

2018: KopGroep Bibliotheken (School 7), Holland

2016: Dokk1, Denmark

2015: Kista Public Library, Sweden

2014: Craigieburn Library, Australia

Public Libraries, IFLA Professional Awards

Last update: 5 July 2021