

NATIONAL LIBRARIES SECTION STANDING COMMITTEE 81st IFLA General Conference and Assembly, Cape Town, South Africa Standing Committee Meeting 1, Saturday 15 August, 2015, 15:15 – 17:45, Room: 2.61-63

Minutes

1. Welcome by the secretary Roger Jøsevold

The secretary welcomed the members and guests and opened the meeting. He explained that since the last meeting in Lyon SC had some problems in realizing its programme, chair Monica Rizzo Soares Pinto hasn't been active in SC activities because she left her position in National Library of Brazil. In her absence he chaired the meeting.

- Apologies
 Janne Andresoo (Estonia)
 Angela Maria Monteiro Bettencourt (Brazil)
 Han Yongjin (China)
 Isabelle Nyffenegger (France)
- 3. Results from this year's election of new members to NLSC The new members of NLSC for the mandate 2015-2019 are: Genevieve Clavel-Merrin (Swiss National Library), Munalbaeva Umutkan Daurenbekovna (National Academic Library of the Republic of Kazahstan), Han Yongjin (National library of China), Katarina Kristofova (Slovak National Library), Guy Berthiaume (Library and Archives Canada), Isabelle Nyffenegger (Bibliothèque nationale de France), Mark Sweeney (Library of Congress), Aakki Hassan (National Library of Morroco) and Angela Maria Monteiro Bettencourt (National Library of Brasil).
- 4. Introduction of members and guests Those attending presented themselves briefly (see attached list).
- 5. Adoption of the Agenda The agenda was approved.
- 6. Approval of the minutes from the meetings in Lyon The minutes were approved.

7. Elections of the Chair and the Secretary and appointment of the Information Officer

The members voted for Guy Berthiaume as a chair and for Genevieve Clavel-Merrin as a secretary for the term 2015-2017. Melita Ambrožič was appointed as an information coordinator for the term 2015-2017.

Three corresponding members of SCNL were appointed for the term 2015-2017: Nafisah Binti Ahmad (National Library of Malaysia), Jaesun Lee (National Library of Korea) and Winston Roberts (National Library of New Zealand).

8. Report from the Chair on the IFLA Leadership brief

In the absence of the Chair, Genevieve Clavel summarized the meeting. The focus was on IFLA's new strategic directions. Copies of this were distributed and all Standing Committees are requested to ensure that their activities and strategic plans reflect one or more of these. An interactive session enabled participants to provide feedback on their experience in SCs. [A document summarizing this was sent to officers]. New tools for communications will be made available: Basecamp for group work and survey gizmo for surveys.

9. Guidelines for National Libraries, Andy Stephens (BL, UK) and Hans B. Jansen (KB, NL)

The SC thanked Andy Stephens and Hans Jansen for their hard work on this. All agreed it could be a valuable tool but needed further work. Hans Jansen underlined that the document represents an inventory of best practices rather than guidelines. A discussion on the development of this was planned for the second meeting.

- 10.National Library Section 's program at IFLA 2015 conference The joint Open Session by the National Libraries Section and National Information and Library Policy Special Interest Group has been organized with the main theme: Dynamic National Libraries – Innovating to Progress National Information and Library Policy. Thanks to Andy Stephens, Patrice Landry and Lim Wonsun proposals for papers to be presented at the session have been collected by the middle of March. After the reviewing process four proposals were selected and selected presenters (from Canada, South Africa, Norway and Netherlands) asked to submit formal papers.
- 11.Ideas for National Library Section's program at IFLA 2016 The secretary called for ideas and announced that the theme would be addressed also in the second meeting. Ideas put forward were:
 - Collection building in the digital environment
 - National bibliography transformation
 - Web archiving practices
 - E-books and legal deposit

- 12.NLSC's second meeting at IFLA 2015 (19 August 08:00-9.30) The secretary referred the agenda for the second meeting. The agenda was approved.
- 13.0ther matters

Roswitha Poll (chair of ISO Working Group which prepared ISO TR 28118: 2009 »Performance indicators for National Libraries«, ISO 11620: 2013 »Library performance indicators« and ISO 16439: 2014 »Methods and procedures for assessing the impact of libraries«) addressed the section with a question if it is interesting for the revision of ISO TR 28118 (to be updated with and additional performance indicators as to new tasks of National Libraries).

14. The meeting was adjourned

Members attending the standing committee meeting:

- Melita Ambrožič (National and University Library, Slovenia)
- Guy Berthiaume (Library and Archives Canada, Canada)
- Genevieve Clavel-Merrin (Swiss National Library, Switzerland)
- Renate Gömpel (Deutsche Nationalbibliothek, Germany)
- Sook Hyeun Lee (National Library of Korea, Republic of Korea)
- Hans Jansen (Koninklijke Bibliotheek, Netherlands)
- Roger Jøsevold (National Library of Norway, Norway)
- Katarina Kristofova (Slovak National Library, Slovakia)
- Patrice Landry (Swiss National Library, Switzerland)
- Ngian Lek Choh (National Library Board of Singapore, Singapore)
- Katarzyna Slaska (National Library of Poland, Poland)
- Mark Sweeney (Library of Congress, USA)

Corresponding members attending the standing committee meeting:

- Jaesun Lee (National Library of Korea, Republic of Korea)
- Winston Roberts (National Library of New Zealand, New Zealand)

Observers attending the standing committee meeting:

- Raouf Abdul Hafeiz Helal (National Library and Archives of Egypt, Egypt)
- Gee Hyun (National Library of Korea, Republic of Korea)
- Habib Abba Jatto (National Library of Algeria, Algeria)
- Aowayda Kamel (National Library and Archives of Egypt, Egypt)
- Jan Kovačik (Slovak National Library, Slovakia)
- Wonsun Lim (National Library of Korea, Republic of Korea)
- Bill Macnaught (National Library of New Zealand, New Zealand)
- Clément Oury (ISSN International Centre, Paris, France)
- Moema Salgado (National Library of Brazil, Brazil)
- Liisa Savolainen (National library of Finland, Finland)
- Anne Marie Schwirtlich (National Library of Austria, Austria)

- Jihye Song (National Library of Korea, Republic of Korea)Liudmila Zaytseva (Russian State Library, Russia)